Marine safety agencies

State and territory marine safety agencies are responsible for administering the national system on our behalf until 30 June 2018. From 1 July 2018, we will provide services to the domestic commercial vessel industry.

Until 30 June 2018 you can contact your local marine safety agency to:

  • submit an application (application processing times are subject to the workload of each agency)
  • ask about qualifications, vessel requirements, or the national system.

Find out more about the transition to the national system from 1 July 2018.

State and territory marine safety agencies

Agency name State or territory Phone Website
Roads and Maritime Services New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory 13 12 36
Maritime Safety Queensland Queensland 13 74 68
Transport Safety Victoria Victoria 1800 223 022
Marine and Safety Tasmania Tasmania 1300 135 513
Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure South Australia 1300 885 793
Department of Transport Western Australia 1300 723 226
Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics Northern Territory 08 8924 7100
Last updated: 14 November 2017
Last reviewed: 14 November 2017