Accredited VTS training organisations

A training organisation must apply to be accredited to provide approved VTS Training.

We have accredited the following Australian training organisations to deliver VTS training based on IALA Standards for Training and Certification of VTS Personnel and associated Recommendations.

Training organisation Approved model courses Contact details
The Australian Maritime College
  • V-103/1 on vessel traffic services operator training.
  • V-103/2 on vessel traffic services supervisor training.
  • V-103/4 on vessel traffic services on-the-job training Instructor
  • IALA Model Course V-103/5 on Revalidation Process for VTS Qualification and Certification - Recurrent Training
Tel: +61 (0)3 6324 9850

Process to become an accredited VTS training organisation

An organisation may apply to be accredited to provide VTS training in accordance with IALA V103 model courses.

For accreditation, we must be satisfied that a training organisation can deliver the VTS training courses they have applied for.  An audit process is completed to assess how the applicant meets the accreditation criteria, in particular that:

  • The applicant can meet the responsibilities of a VTS training organisation outlined in IALA Guideline 1014 on the Accreditation and Approval Process for VTS Training.
  • The applicant is a registered training organisation with the Australian Skills Quality Authority or the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency

Contact us for more information.

Certificate of accreditation VTS training organisations are provided with a certificate of accreditation which states:

  • The approved VTS training courses the organisation may provide.
  • Any conditions with which the organisation must comply.

This certificate of accreditation will be issued for a period of five years, as long as they continue to meet the ongoing accreditation requirements. 

IMPORTANT - The VTS Training organisation must apply at least 90 days before the expiry of the certificate. 

More information can be found on the following websites: 

Last updated: 

Monday 8 November 2021