Domestic Commercial Vessel (DCV)

ADVISORY NOTE



DCV-A-028

Date: 10 March 2016

Topic: List of 'Recognised Islands' — NSCV Part B (Recognised islands) Determination 2016

Issue: This advisory provides a list of the *recognised islands* that have been determined by the National

Regulator for the purposes of the definition of 'recognised island' in the *National Standard for Commercial Vessels, Part B – General Requirements* (NSCV Part B). This advisory note replaces Advisory Note (DCV-A-028) issued on 12 November 2015 following amendments to the Determination.

Advice: The Dictionary in NSCV Part B contains a definition of 'recognised island', a term which is then used in

relation to determining where vessels in certain service categories may operate throughout NSCV Part

B. A 'recognised island' is an island that is:

(a) part of a State, Territory or the Commonwealth of Australia; and

(b) mentioned as a recognised island in the list of islands determined by the National Regulator for this

definition.

The islands determined by the National Regulator the purposes of that definition are as follows:

State / Territory	Recognised islands
New South Wales	Lord Howe Island
Western Australia	Houtman-Abrolhos Group
Tasmania*	 King Island Furneaux Group Kent Group Waterhouse Island
Northern Territory	Any island that is part of the Northern Territory
Commonwealth	Christmas IslandCocos (Keeling) Islands

^{*} The following islands included in the repealed NSCV Part B (Recognised islands) Determination 2015 have been omitted from the current Determination as these islands are within the Tasmanian mainland baseline: Three Hammock Island; Hunter Island; Robins Island; Maatsukyer Island Group; Bruny Island; Maria Island; Schouten Island; Tasman Island.

Contact: AMSA Connect - (02) 6279 5000

