Industry recognised at annual shipping awards

Monday 24 November 2014
Last Wednesday night around 350 industry representatives attended Lloyd's List Australia's 19th Australian Shipping and Maritime Industry Awards in Sydney.
Allan Schwartz, General Manager Ship Safety Division, AMSA; presents the Seafarers’ Welfare Award to Peter Keyte, General Manager Trade Services, Port of Brisbane; and Sister Mary Leahy

AMSA sponsored the Seafarers' Welfare Award, of which there were two winners this year: Port of Brisbane and Sister Mary Leahy. Highly commended was awarded to ANL Container Lines. 

This award recognises the commitment and contribution of a company or an individual to the mental, physical and pastoral welfare of seafarers.

We were also proud to receive the Newsmaker of the Year award, as the organisation deemed by the editorial staff of Lloyd's List Australia to have had the most newsworthy impact on the transport and logistics industry in the past year. We would like to thank Lloyd's List Australia and the sponsor of this award, Maritime Employees Training Ltd.

We congratulate all of this year's winners and in particular the following award winners with whom AMSA has had close working relationships over a number of years:

Seafarers' Welfare Award
Joint Winners: Port of Brisbane & Sister Mary Leahy
Highly Commended: ANL Container Lines
Sponsor the Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Maritime Services Award
Joint Winners: Australasian Institute of Marine Surveyors and Ravi Nijjer
Highly Commended: STOK Marine

Port Or Terminal of the Year
Winner: Darwin Port Corporation
Highly Commended: Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group
Sponsor Svitzer Australia

Australian Maritime Hall of Fame 
Dr Terry O'Brien, inventor of the Dynamic Under Keel Clearance system and founder of OMC International.

The full list of all award winners can be found on the Lloyd's List Australia website.

David Penny, Manager Ship Safety – East & North; Jennifer Clark, AMSA Board Member; and Allan Schwartz, General Manager Ship Safety Division with AMSA’s Newsmaker of the Year awar

Related news