Career pathways for ratings

Find out more about your career and training options as a ratings.

There are career pathways and training requirements open to ratings serving on a regulated Australian vessel.

Career pathways for ratings

'Ratings' refers to skilled seafarers who perform various essential tasks across all ship departments.
There are several pathways you can take to become a rating. It depends on the area you decide to work in. 

STCW refers to The International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers 1978.

You can hold any of the following:

More information

Ratings training requirements

Show all / Hide all

Pathways to enter the industry as a rating

Show all / Hide all


Last updated: 

Wednesday 8 November 2023