Our payment system and some of our forms will be unavailable between 7.30 pm and 11 pm on Monday 20th May for maintenance. We apologise for any inconvenience.

New Chair and members appointed to AMSA Board

Thursday 6 July 2023

The Hon Catherine King MP has appointed Captain Jeanine Drummond to the role of Chair of the AMSA Board.

The Hon Catherine King MP, Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government has appointed Captain Jeanine Drummond to the role of Chair of the AMSA Board from Monday 3 July 2023 for a four year term.

Captain Drummond is a current AMSA Board member and holds extensive experience in the maritime industry. As an experienced Harbour Master, Master Mariner and Maritime Industry Professional, Capt. Drummond, has an extensive background across the maritime industry sectors, at sea, offshore oil and gas, and in the ports sector, both in operations and development, in Australia and internationally.

Jeanine holds an Australian Master Unlimited Certificate of Competency, Bachelor of Business (Maritime Management), Graduate Diploma Maritime Management, Advance Diploma of Applied Science and is an Associate Fellow of Nautical Institute, Member of WISTA, and a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

The Minister also appointed two new Board members: 

Michelle Taylor, is the current President of the Maritime Law Association of Australia and New Zealand (MLANZ) and a partner at Sparke Helmore Lawyers. Michelle comes to the AMSA Board as an accomplished lawyer with more than 25 years' experience as a litigator, Michelle specialises in maritime and transport law. 

Dean Summers was the National Coordinator for the International Transport Federation (ITF) and worked with the Maritime Union Association (MUA) before his retirement. As a former seafarer, Dean is passionate about seafarer living and working conditions. Dean’s appointment reinforces AMSA’s position on seafarer welfare and safety. 

Jennifer Clark has been Acting Board Chair since the completion of Stuart Richey’s term, Jennifer will continue in her position as Deputy Chair.  The AMSA Management and Board Secretariat would like to thank Jennifer for her passionate work in supporting AMSA over this period.

Find out more on our website AMSA Board and the Minister’s media release New chair appointed to the Australian Maritime Safety Authority | Ministers for the Department of Infrastructure.

Related news