AMSA's website will undergo maintenance from 9:30am - 11am on Thursday 30 May. During this period, search functionality may be unavailable for 1 - 2 minutes. 

We apologise for any inconvenience

Exemption 40—Marine Safety (Class C restricted operations)

This exemption is relevant to owners of certain vessels operating in designated Class C Restricted areas who may not want to obtain a certificate of survey.

What this exemption will allow you to do

A domestic commercial vessel that is eligible to use this exemption may only operate in designated areas and is limited in how many crew it can carry. It must not carry passengers, unless it is a class 2 vessel while operating only in D and E waters. 

Find out more about the crew carrying and operational area restrictions.  

To obtain this exemption your vessel must undergo an initial survey and meet the applicable standards – see Schedule 1 of Exemption 40. 

The survey must be conducted by an accredited marine surveyor or a recognised organisation. 

Your surveyor can help you to apply for approval to operate under this exemption. Your surveyor will do this by completing and submitting an Application for class C restricted operations. 

Once approved, you must comply with the requirements of the exemption, including notifying us of any relevant changes and ensuring that the vessel continues to meet the applicable standards. Read more about how to comply, apply, renew, review and vary your exemption. 

Additional restrictions and standards apply – see Schedule 1 of Exemption 40.

Legislation and incorporated material

Related information


Last updated: 21 August 2023