Coastal pilotage areas

Map showing the five coastal pilotage areas that we regulate.
1 July 2017

The routes regulated are:

  • The Inner Route (from Cape York to Cairns)
  • The Great North East Channel
  • Hydrographers Passage
  • Whitsundays (Whitsunday Passage, Whitsunday Group and Lindeman Group)
  • The Torres Strait


Australian Maritime Safety Authority
Last updated: 9 November 2020