Table 3 – Places listed alphabetically

PlaceState PlaceState
Adele IslandWA Double Island PointQLD
Althorpe IslandSA Eclipse IslandQLD
Bessieres IslandWA Eddystone PointTAS
Booby IslandWA Flagstaff PointNSW
Breaksea IslandWA Foul BayWA
Bustard HeadQLD Gabo IslandVIC
Cape BailyNSW Gantheaume PointWA
Cape BanksSA Goods IslandQLD
Cape BordaSA Goose IslandTAS
Cape ByronNSW Legendre IslandWA
Cape ClevelandQLD Low HeadTAS
Cape DonNT Low IslesQLD
Cape du CouedicSA MacquarieNSW
Cape HothamNT Marino RocksSA
Cape InscriptionWA Mersey BluffTAS
Cape LeeuwinWA Montague IslandNSW
Cape LevequeWA Nobbys HeadNSW
Cape MoretonQLD North ReefQLD
Cape NaturalisteWA Point MooreWA
Cape NelsonVIC Point QuobbaWA
Cape NorthumberlandSA Rottnest IslandWA
Cape SchanckVIC Sandy CapeQLD
Cape SorellTAS Smoky CapeNSW
Cape St AlbanSA South SolitaryNSW
Cape WickhamTAS Split PointVIC
Charles PointNT Sugarloaf PointNSW
Clarence HeadNSW Swan IslandTAS
Cliffy IslandVIC Table CapeTAS
Corny PointSA Tasman IslandTAS
Dangerous ReefSA Troubridge HillSA
Dent IslandQLD Wilsons PromontoryVIC

Table 4 – Places listed by age

PlaceStateYear first lit PlaceStateYear first lit
Swan IslandTAS1845 Table CapeTAS1888
Goose IslandTAS1846 Eddystone PointTAS1889
Cape MoretonQLD1857 Mersey BluffTAS1889
Cape BordaSA1858 Low HeadTAS1890
Nobbys HeadNSW1858 Booby IslandQLD1890
Cape SchanckVIC1859 Smoky CapeNSW1891
Wilsons PromontoryVIC1859 Split PointVIC1891
Cape WickhamTAS1861 Charles PointNT1893
Gabo IslandVIC1862 Rottnest IslandWA1896
Bustard HeadQLD1868 Cape LeeuwinWA1896
Sandy CapeQLD1870 Cape SorellTAS1899
Sugarloaf PointNSW1875 Cape ByronNSW1901
Low IslesQLD1878 Breaksea IslandWA1902
North ReefQLD1878 Cape NaturalisteWA1904
Point MooreWA1878 Tasman IslandTAS1906
Althorpe IslandSA1879 Cape St AlbansSA1908
Cape ClevelandQLD1879 Cape du CouedicSA1909
Dent IslandQLD1879 Cape InscriptionWA1910
South SolitaryNSW1880 Cape LevequeWA1911
Montague IslandNSW1881 Cape DonNT1917
Cape NorthumberlandSA1882 Eclipse IslandWA1926
Corny PointSA1882 Cape HothamNT1928
Cape BanksSA1883 Flagstaff PointNSW1936
MacquarieNSW1883 Point QuobbaWA1950
Cape NelsonVIC1884 Cape BailyNSW1950
Cliffy IslandVIC1884 Clarence HeadNSW1955
Double Island PointQLD1884 Marino RocksSA1962
Goods IslandQLD1886 Troubrudge HillSA1980

Table 5 – Lighthouses open to the public

Bustard HeadQLDEurimbula 
Cape BordaSAKangaroo Island 
Cape ByronNSWByron Bay 
Cape LeeuwinWAAugusta 
Cape NaturalisteWAMargaret River 
Cape NelsonVICPortland 
Cape SchanckVICMornington Peninsula 
Gabo IslandVICGabo Island 
MacquarieNSWSydneyOpen 6 weekends/year
Montague IslandNSWNarooma 
Rottnest IslandWARottnest Island 
Smoky CapeNSWSouth West Rocks 
Split PointVICAireys Inlet 
Table CapeTASWynyard 

Table 6 – Location of movable cultural artefacts

AMSA ReferenceBorrower
EOL200Cairns Maritime Museum
EOL201AMSA – Darwin Office
EOL203Pine Islet Historical Society – Mackay
EOL204Bustard Head Lighthouse Association
EOL206Australian Maritime Systems Group – Fremantle
EOL209AMSA – Canberra Office
EOL212AMSA – Brisbane Office
EOL213East Coast Marina – Brisbane
EOL215Double Island Point
EOL300New South Wales National Parks and Wildlife Service – Cape Byron Lighthouse Museum
EOL301New South Wales National Parks and Wildlife Service – Barrenjoey Lighthouse Museum
EOL302AMSA – Cairns Office
EOL303Eurobodalla Shire Council – Narooma
EOL305Clarence Valley Council – Yamba
EOL306AMSA – Newcastle Office
EOL308AMSA – Macquarie Light
EOL309AMSA – Sydney Office
EOL310AMSA – Smoky Cape Lighthouse
EOL311AMSA – Cape Byron Lighthouse
EOL312AMSA – South Solitary Island Lighthouse
EOL313AMSA – Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse
EOL314Clyde River and Batemans Bay Historical Society
EOL503Parks Victoria – Wilsons Promontory
EOL505Parks Victoria – Cape Schanck
EOL512EcoLogic – Split Point Lighthouse
EOL513AMSA – Melbourne Office
EOL600Ausbuilt Maritime Museum – Port Adelaide
EOL603Port Macdonnell Maritime Museum
EOL608AMSA – Adelaide Office
EOL610SA Department of the Environment and Water – Cape Borda
EOL611SA Department of the Environment and Water – Cape Willoughby
EOL612AMSA – Cape Borda Lighthouse
EOL613AMSA – Cape du Couedic Lighthouse
EOL700Tasmanian Maritime Museum – Hobart
EOL702AMSA – Low Head Lighthouse
EOL704AMSA – Devonport Office
EOL705Wildcare Inc., Friends of Tasman Island – Tasman Island
EOL802Port Hedland Historical Society
EOL803AMSA – Fremantle
EOL804Margaret River Busselton Tourism Association – Cape Naturaliste
EOL805Northcliffe Pioneer Museum
EOL806AMSA – Cape Naturaliste
EOL808Guilderton Visitor Centre
EOL901Minister’s Office, New Parliament House – Canberra
Figure 99. Cape Schanck Lighthouse Photo source AMSA 2015 Figure 99. Cape Schanck Lighthouse Photo source AMSA 2015