National Law Act exemptions for marine orders

The National Law Act, regulations, marine orders, and exemptions set out the detail of the national system.

Exemptions from parts of the national law are provided where one of the following apply:

  • it is unreasonable to require full compliance
  • where transitional arrangements are required.

General exemptions are provided to a class of people or vessels, such as heritage vessels or traditional operators. Some general exemptions require an application to be made before the exemption can be accessed, whilst others are available ‘as of right’.

Specific exemptions may be available where required for a specific person or vessel, and an application will generally be required in these instances.

For further information, see our policy on exemptions from the domestic commercial vessel national law.

Index of national law exemptions

Exemption number Title
1 Marine Safety (Vessel identifiers) Exemption
2 Marine Safety (Certificates of survey) Exemption
3 Marine Safety (Certificates of operation) Exemption
4 Marine Safety (Recreational use) Exemption
6 Marine Safety (Periodic survey, equipment certification and compass adjustment) Exemption
7 Marine Safety (Temporary operations) Exemption
10 Marine Safety (Operation of fishing vessels) Exemption
13 Marine Safety (Wildlife or other sightseeing) Exemption
14 Marine Safety (Sea rangers) Exemption
15 Marine Safety (Scientific research and educational activities) Exemption
16 Marine Safety (Traditional fishing) Exemption
17 Marine Safety (Great Barrier Reef Region and Torres Strait zone) Exemption
18 Marine Safety (Sail) Exemption
21 Marine Safety (Operator vehicular ferry–in–chains) Exemption
22 Marine Safety (Bareboats) Exemption
23 Marine Safety (Masters or crew without certificates) Exemption
24 Marine Safety (Emergency services vessels) Exemption
25 Marine Safety (Old certificates of competency — local restrictions) Exemption
31 Marine Safety (Expired pre-USL Code certificates) Exemption
33 Marine Safety (Sailing vessels with motor propulsion) Exemption
36 Marine Safety (Steam-powered vessels) Exemption
39 Marine Safety (Life jacket lights) Exemption

Marine Safety (Class C restricted operations) Exemption

and schedules listed below:

Exemption 40 (Operational Area) Determination

Additional maps are available for Tasmania that depict both the C restricted areas as well as sheltered water limits:


Marine Safety (Unpowered barges) Exemption

44 Marine Safety (Domestic commercial vessels—EIAPP certificate)

Last updated: 

Thursday 22 February 2024